Editing & ESL Tutoring Testimonials


Editing | ESL Tutoring


Editing Testimonials


March 20, 2020

John has been helping my family to improve English writing since 2015. I believe that writing is a skill and an art, that anyone can develop over a time. Having an expert in the industry as a tutor or editor, that can provide unbiased authentic and respectful feedback and challenge at the same time, makes the process of learning more effective and engaging. John is that person! We worked with John on a wide range of projects, starting from reviewing/editing our essays and resumes to asking basic English language grammar questions. Through every project John maintains a high-quality bar, which eventually leads to excellent results and a feeling of accomplishment. Thank you, John! 

—Marat G., IT Developer, Microsoft


January 16, 2020

John was timely, knowledgeable, and responsive. He gave great editing feedback for grammar, punctuation, and positioning, even offering great suggestions that enhanced the verbiage to make a more compelling statement. I would certainly suggest that everyone take a strong look at John when you are looking to hire a great editor for your project.

—Daryll Paiva, Content Writer, Event Planning


October 24, 2019

As an English as a Second Language student, writing in English has always been challenging for me. I came across John’s profile more than a year ago. His extensive editing experience, knowledge of my native Russian language, and linguistic background caught my attention. He was able to explain “why,” in grammatical terms, and clearly articulate the comparison between the two languages. My ability to express my thoughts in writing improves after every review of my editor’s comments. In addition to the grammar suggestions, John makes every effort to help me with the logic and clarity of my work. He also provides incredible sources for my further writing and linguistic advancement. John’s assistance has exceeded my expectations and transformed me into a confident writer.

I highly recommend his services to anyone who needs help with grammar, editing, or logical coherence of any style of writing – John can do it all! He is an incredibly knowledgeable, patient, affirmative, and reliable educator.

—Olga B., Executive Assistant, Real Estate


June 8, 2017

John’s editorial work is fantastic. He made great suggestions, figured out the tracked changes feature for me, and asked really great questions. He did a great job of managing me through the entire process (not an easy task). He was able to set clear goals and keep me on track. I accepted almost all of his proposed changes and enjoyed the back and forth.

John’s written communications were well crafted, carefully thought out, and super helpful. In person, John is easy to get along with and great to work with. I highly value John’s work and I am looking forward to working with him again!

David Page, Author


January 17, 2018 

I asked John to copy edit and proofread my graduate school application essays. He was quick at responding and easy to work with. He genuinely wants to get to know his student and understands what they want for their essays. Because of this, he was able to edit my essay in a way that does not take away my voice. Highly recommend you work with John!! 

—Lay Kuan L., Graduate School Candidate


October 12, 2016

John reviewed my wife’s essay and fixed grammar/structure/style issues quickly and efficiently. I highly recommend him! I enjoyed working with him. Next time when we need to review an essay, I’ll definitely ask to work with him again.

—Marat G., IT Developer, Microsoft


January 26, 2017

John really helped me focus my thoughts and my writing in my application for my master’s program. I was full of ideas, and he helped me rein them in instead of letting them run amok.

—Gia P., Graduate School Candidate

Back to top


ESL Tutoring Testimonials


October 24, 2019

As an English as a Second Language student, writing in English has always been challenging for me. I came across John’s profile more than a year ago. His extensive editing experience, knowledge of my native Russian language, and linguistic background caught my attention. He was able to explain “why,” in grammatical terms, and clearly articulate the comparison between the two languages. My ability to express my thoughts in writing improves after every review of my editor’s comments. In addition to the grammar suggestions, John makes every effort to help me with the logic and clarity of my work. He also provides incredible sources for my further writing and linguistic advancement. John’s assistance has exceeded my expectations and transformed me into a confident writer.

I highly recommend his services to anyone who needs help with grammar, editing, or logical coherence of any style of writing—John can do it all! He is an incredibly knowledgeable, patient, affirmative, and reliable educator.

—Olga B. (L1: Russian), Executive Assistant, Real Estate


September 26, 2018

Our captivating discussions with John are always high quality. His skills in psychology and linguistics increase my self-confidence because I have a chance to talk to such a deep and interesting person. To be honest, I consider our meetings not as lessons but rather as self-development. The rest of the day is always good after our conversations with John.

—Pavlo and Iryna P. (L1: Ukrainian), Construction Management


February 28, 2018 

Excellent tutor! I’m so glad I was able to schedule a lesson with John. He is so knowledgeable and patient! I really like the way he was able to explain the different things I couldn’t understand earlier; so looking forward to our next lesson!

—Anna G. (L1: Russian), Commercial Airline Pilot


September 19, 2017

John has gotten our son excited about learning! He was conscientious in learning what our goals were, discovering our son’s strengths and weaknesses, and tailored his approach to our son’s interests. Highly recommended!

—Mason M. (L1: English), RN


May 3, 2017

I’ve been working with John on my English for months. John is a very passionate and professional English tutor. He is good at making conversation with his students, highly flexible with topics, and he knows many ways of tutoring. Also, he is very sensitive to the small grammar, pronunciation, and English usage mistakes. The best thing I work with John is I feel like chatting with an American friend, not an English tutor!

—Da Xie (L1: Chinese), PE Research Adviser at Kinetic Capital


April 28, 2017

I was initially impressed with John Belmont’s enthusiasm, communication skills, and professional approach as a tutor. During more than six months, John has consistently demonstrated all the qualities needed to be an effective tutor and more.

John is reliable, dedicated, and eternally upbeat—these characteristics help strengthen your pronunciation, raise your level of understanding of grammar, and clarify your writing. He has a perfect grasp of the English language, and he has consistently met, or surpassed, all my expectations while always being very flexible with his time.

John is a hardworking and top-performing professional tutor. He has my highest recommendation, and I am happy to furnish more details if you would like additional information.

—Jean-Philippe Eichinger (L1: French), Safran Engineering Services


February 28, 2017

He helped me to improve my counter argument essay become stronger. I am an international student and I don’t speak well. He is very patient and ask my ideas. He is very thoughtful. He even took notes, and then gave to me later on. I really appreciate it. Highly recommend this tutor.

—Yinlu Z. (L1: Chinese), Seattle Central College

Back to top


EFA logo

Member NW Independent Editors Guild
%d bloggers like this: